We all know the five stages of grief; denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. With the pandemic disrupting our normal way of life, people are missing the things we are used to doing. 

"Our world as a whole is experiencing a collective loss, and so we're all going through a grief," said Monty Miller, a psychotherapist at Saint Luke's. "So many of us just want life to get back to the way it was, and the truth is it will never be the way it was."

He spoke to KMBC about how people need to find meaning. It's the new sixth stage of the grief process. Monty says we need to "name it to feel it, and feel it to heal it."

Watch the full story below. 

Read more >

Related Content

Apparel, Clothing, Coat, Lab Coat, Person, Doctor
Danielle's story

"You get those rare moments that you're reminded why you went into this field, and it makes everything so much better." Danielle Hammontree, Certified Family Nurse Practitioner, Saint Luke’s East Hospital

Read more >
Person, Doctor, Clothing, Apparel, Lab Coat, Coat, Face, Nurse
Deb's story

Deb Day, Registered Nurse · Anderson County Hospital "I am a Saint Luke's Nurse.  Nurses are the lifeblood of Saint Luke’s compassionate care, and the life-changing work they do is...

Read more >
Person, Hair, Nurse, Face, Female, Word
Nicole's story

"What we do is so vital. We have so much power as nurses." Nicole Roberson, Registered Nurse, Neuroscience ICU, Saint Luke's Hospital of Kansas City

Read more >